Tactical Equipment - Survivalist Equipment

Leica ER 6.5-26X56 LRS Scope Review

Leica ER 6.5-26x56 LRS Scope Review

ABOVE : The Leica ER 6.5-26X56 LRS mounted on a custom built 338 Win Mag precision hunting rifle. This scope will ensure you get the best out of any calibre from 270 Win through to 338 Lapua, and is ideal for magnum and ultra-magnum calibres.

UPDATED :  

I RECEIVED THE LEICA ER 6.5-26 X 56 LRS SCOPE FOR REVIEW IN AND WASTED NO TIME FITTING IT ON TO A CUSTOM 338 WIN MAG WHICH I USE FOR PRECISION HUNTING FOR DEERAND OTHER ANIMALS.

Leica are well known for the exceptional clarity and quality of their glass and the Aqua-Dura lens coating and 56mm objective of the ER 6.5-26 LRS give minimal colour fringing and simply outstanding light transmission and contrast. Leica advertise 90 % or better light transmission, and, having directly compared the Leica scope to other high end European scopes, I would have to agree.

The Leica ER 6.5-26X5 6 LRS is waterproof (submersible) to 4m (13ft), and is nitrogen-filled. The scope is designed by Leica specifically for long range shooting with standard, magnum and ultra magnum calibers, so it ha s 10cm (4in) of extended eye relief, a very broad magnification range, from 6.5X to 26X, and precise, 5 mm at 100m click adjustment.

The short eyepiece allows you to mount the scope almost level with the rear action screw; and the long scope tube provides plenty of spac e forward of the action, so that you can use low mounts regardless of action length. These feature s allow for natural scope alignment and a good "cheek weld".

I found the scope excellent for long range applications, and also very capable for general stalking. The broad magnification range gives a hunter the flexibility to se t the scope at 6.5X Land the side focus on infinity for stalking to an "overwatch" or "ambush" shooting position.

Once you arrive at your shooting location you can se t the magnification to higher levels and use your precision hunting tools (range finder, wind meter and ballistic program) for shots at longer ranges across gullies etc. Once you locate a deer with your binoculars, being able to zoom up to 26X is a real benefit to checking the bullet path is clear of obstructions, and allows the hunter to read mirage and assess wind affects downrange - the detail visible at 26X is phenomenal!

THE LEICA ER EYEPIECE

The scope has 7 diopters of compensation, from -4 to +3. Focussing the scope to suit your eye is a simple matter of sighting on an object of known distance at high magnification, adjusting the parallax ring to the known range and rotating the diopter ring until you have the clearest image for your vision.

The magnification numbers are laser engraved and being large, are very easy to read in low light.

The substantial rib on the power index ring gives good grip, and when the rib is aligned at the 12 o'clock position the scope is set at 12X magnification. With regular use hunters will soon find their preferred magnification.

LEICA ER SCOPE RETICLE

Leica offer 3 reticles for the ER B.5-26X56 LRS, a classic fine wire 4a (reviewed), a Ballistic Reticle and a Magnum Ballistic Reticle. All reticles are located in the second focal plane. Leica also offer a Bullet Drop Compensator (BDC) that uses a proprietary ballistics programme that can be downloaded from their website.

The scope is parallax adjustable from 50m to infinity, and Leica's 4a reticle has a crosshair thickness of 3mm (0.12in) at 100m. The crosshair is easy to see regardless of background, and being in the second focal plane, doesn't clutter the view, even on 26 magnification. To see how far ! could see fine detail with this scope, I set it up overlooking a rabbit warren at a verified range of 1044m, where at 8X I was able to take a good sight picture on the whole rabbit! At magnifications of 15X to 26X, I could see fine detail such as the rabbit's ears and eye.

WINDAGE & ELEVATION ADJUSTMENT

Zeiss ER Scope Target AccuracyTo test for Point of Impact shift at varying magnifications I fired single shots at 6.5X, 10X and 26X at the same Point of Aim. For this "return to zero" test I moved the scope 10cm for each shot and the scope returned to zero. Any aberrances were most likely the fault of the shooter rather than the equipment.

Elevation and windage adjustment on the ER 6.5-26X56 LRS is very precise; and 1 click of impact point correction will move the POI 5mm at 100m. The elevation drum is firm enough not to be knocked off its setting and simple to adjust, being designed to allow you to "dial in" your elevation. The drum has 70cm of horizontal adjustment at 100m; that with a flat rail and a 100m zero will allow you to make precise elevation adjustment well past the effective range of most deer calibres. Precision shooters, "Fly shooters" and F Class competitors have the option of mounting the scope with a 10MOA tapered rail, and of sighting the scope at a 300m zero.

The windage drum also has 70cm of vertical adjustment, and depending on how central your mounts are to your bore, you should have more than 30cm of windage adjustment left and right at 100m, which is plenty for the effective range of most deer calibers in reasonable wind conditions. You can set the windage dial to zero once you have sighted the scope in, and then adjust for windage as required by removing the scope cap and winding the dial.

EYE RELIEF, FIELD OF VIEW & TECH DETAILS

The Leica ER 6.5-26X56 LRS has a 30mm aluminium tube. It weighs 750gm (26.5oz) and is 395mm (15.75in) long. It's very generous 100mm (4in) of eye relief makes it ideal for use with magnum calibres.

The Field of View at 26X at 100m is 1.45m (4ft), and at 6.5X is 5.5m (18ft). The 56mm objective lens cuts through shadow and gives excellent low light performance. The patented "Aqua-Dura" hydrophobic coating repels water and dirt and resists abrasion.

TRACKING & POINT OF IMPACT TEST AT VARYING MAGNIFICATION

Because the reticle is in the second image plane, it stays the same size at all magnifications. Of course, you will need a stable platform for precision shooting at longer ranges and higher magnifications. I found that "dialling in" the windage and elevation adjustments on targets out to 400m was a precise way of delivering the projectile onto the target.

Zooming up to 26X provided a clear view of the target including any branches or obstructions to the bullet path. It also enabled me to read mirage and wind strength to good effect.

HUNTING WITH THE LEICA ER 6.5-26 X 56 LRS

Due to the early start to the bushfire season I wasn't able to hunt with this scope as much as I would have liked but I did make a few trips to a property that has sambar and where I cull coyote.

The scope performed flawlessly, even in pouring rain that filled the eyepiece as the Aqua-Dura coating caused rain to simply bead off when the rifle was raised, giving me a clear view of the target.

My longest shot was 330m on a Whitetail There was no wind so I quickly adjusted the elevation dial and killed it clean with a head shot. This is what precision hunting is about.

Leica-LRS-Long-Range-Scope-Review

ABOVE - 1. Diopter ring -The diopter adjustment ring is very firm and didn't move out of focus while stalking.

ABOVE - 2. Magnification ring - The large magnification numbers are very easy to read, even in low light.

ABOVE - 3. Turrets - The Leica 6.5-26X56 has 70cm of elevation, 70cm of windage (full left to full right), and is parallax adjustable from 50m to Infinity.

LEICA ER 6.5-26 X 56 LRS SCOPE REVIEW CONCLUSION

The Leica ER 6.5-26X56 LRS scope is perfect for getting the best out of magnum and non magnum calibres in any precision hunting application.

Whether you are hunting sambar face to face; reaching out for thar and chamois in the Alps or shooting competitively, such as "F" class and "fly" shoots, this scope is for you. "Aim small, miss small".